See hundreds of photos from Touchdown Club events on our Facebook page at: Touchdown Houston. Click on the Facebook logo at the bottom of this page to go directly to the TD Club's Facebook page.



Eight schools took home trophies from the 2017 Comerica Bank Sportsmanship Luncheon, presented by the Fellowship of Christian Athletes, for on-field actions during the 2016 season. Judging was by the referees who covered the games played. Shown in the photo above from the annual awards luncheon are the FCA's Eric Anderson, from left to right, Comerica Bank's Pam Lovett, Westbury Christian coach Mark Krimm, Westbury Christian player Will Symonds (with blue trophy); Willis player Josh Matthews (with red trophy), Willis coach Audie Jackson, Clear Creek player D.J. Johnson (with second red trophy), and Clear Creek coach Darrell Warden. Winning the awards in Class 6A were Clear Creek (1st), Tompkins (2nd) and Kingwood (third). Winners in 5A were WIllis (1st), Tomball Memorial (2nd) and Houston Madison (third). Winners in Class 4A-Private Schools were Westbury Christian (1st) and Cypress Christian (2nd).



TD Club’s 2017 Regular Events
Use “Instructions to merchant” to name your event, when ordering with the PayPal button.





The TD Club assists area high schools through community-service projects. The Club has awarded approximately $180,000 in scholarships to more than 275 high schoolers in Greater Houston in the past 16 years, and have given out  approximately $195,000 in weights and weight equipment to 40 Greater Houston high schools in the past 14 years.

The high schools which received weights were Booker T. Washington, Forest Brook, Reagan, Smiley and Houston Sterling in 2002; Kashmere, Madison, Scarborough, Wheatley and Worthing in 2003; Milby, Northbrook and Westbury in 2004; Furr, Sharpstown and Houston Austin in 2005; Willowridge, Jones, Sam Houston, Aldine and Yates in 2006; Eisenhower, Houston Lamar, Pasadena and Scarborough (again) in 2007; in 2008, Dulles, Furr (again) South Houston and Spring Woods; in 2009, Booker T. Washington (again), Hightower, Spring and Waltrip; in 2010, Alief Hastings and Jeff Davis; in 2011, Alief Elsik, Reagan (again) and Bellaire; in 2012, Humble, Houston Lee, and Madison (again); in 2013, Hightower (again), La Marque and Lutheran North;
Westbury Christian in 2014; Aldine (again), Madison (again) and Scarborough (again) in 2015; and Saint John XXIII, Northbrook (again) and Sam Houston (again) in 2016.

                           SEAN'S SHOES

The TD Club has teamed up with the Houston Texans’ Sean Washington, the director of player development, to distribute excess shoes and clothing to needy high schools. Schools assisted so far are in HISD, Aldine ISD, Fort Bend ISD, Humble ISD, Lamar Consolidated ISD, Anahuac, Goose Creek ISD, C.E. King, Bridge City, Cy-Fair ISD, Tomball ISD, Stafford and Spring Branch ISD.


                           SENIOR SHOWCASE

We helped start the Senior Showcase in 2009 with the Houston Texans and with Houston ISD co-founders Phil Camp and Coby Rhoden, during which more than 800 high school kids have been offered almost $80 million in scholarships and grants from NAIA and NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III schools. The event takes place in the Methodist Training Facility on the Texans campus (the practice bubble).




Click the Facebook logo to go to Touchdown Club of Houston on Facebook and see multiple photos from our events. You also can find out about upcoming TD Club events via Facebook. Join us, because we think this Facebook thing is going to be around for a while.


2016 Private High School Awards Dinner winners are -- Coach of the Year, Stephen Hill, St. Pius X; Offensive Players of the Year, (tie) Gavin Geib, Episcopal (pictured above, third from left) and Michael Massarella, Northland Christian; Defensive Player of the Year, Tyler Roberts, Northland Christian; Lineman of the Year, Walker Little, Episcopal (pictured above, third from right); and Ironman of the Year John Hildreth, Second Baptist.

University of Houston Luncheon with Major Applewhite -- noon, Wed., May 24, TBA

Join us as we host the first public appearance for new Cougar coach Major Applewhite, and hear him talk about what to expect from the new-look UH squad this year.
Tickets are $50 each. Tables are 10 seats each. Tables cost $500 (regular table), $600 (bronze table), $1,000 silver table), $1,500 (gold table) and $2,500 (platinum table).
To pay for tickets, call the TD Club's Neal Farmer at 713-849-9860, use the PayPal button on this page, or mail a check to the TD Club.

Texas A&M Luncheon with Kevin Sumlin, presented by Kapstone Paper -- noon, Thurs., May 25, Bayou City Event Center

A great friend of the TD Club, Kevin Sumlin will talk about what the Aggies will do on the field this fall.
Tickets are $50 each. Tables are 10 seats each. Tables cost $500 (regular table), $600 (bronze table), $1,000 silver table), $1,500 (gold table) and $2,500 (platinum table).
To pay for tickets, call the TD Club's Neal Farmer at 713-849-9860, use the PayPal button on this page, or mail a check to the TD Club.

The 2016 UIL High School Award Dinner winners were Defensive Player of the Year, Trevon Lewis of Lamar; Offensive Player of the Year, CeeDee Lamb of Foster; and Coach of the Year Mark Schmid of The Woodlands (pictured with wife, Sheryl, and son, Eric, who was a finalist on offense, which made it a family affair). The Ron Stone Sports Media Excellence Award went to the late Bob Allen.

 'Fight 'em until Hell freezes over, and then fight ‘em on the ice.'
-- TCU’s Dutch Meyer

'Three things happen when you throw the ball, and two of them are bad.'

-- Texas’ Darrell Royal

 'Never been licked.' Movie about Texas A&M's Corps of Cadets

 'I didn't think anything of it at first. Then I thought to myself, 'My God, he's coming out here to hit me,' ' -- Rice’s Dick Maegle before Alabama’s Tommy Lewis came off the bench to tackle him in the 1954 Cotton Bowl.

 'He could take his'n and beat yours'n, and then he could take yours'n and beat his'n.' -- Former Oilers head coach Bum Phillips on Don Shula

 'I've found that prayer works best when you have big players.'
-- Knute Rockne, Notre Dame

 'They beat us like a tied-up goat.'-- Texas Tech's Spike Dykes

 'Always remember that Goliath was a 40-point favorite over David.'
-- Shug Jordan, Auburn

 'We didn't tackle well today, but we made up for it by not blocking .'
-- John McKay, USC

 'Football is not a contact sport, it is a collision sport. Dancing is a contact sport.-- Duffy Daugherty, Michigan State

 'In Alabama, an atheist is someone who doesn't believe in Bear Bryant.'  -- Wally Butts, Georgia

 'Football is only a game. Spiritual things are eternal. Nevertheless, beat Texas.' -- church sign in Arkansas
before 1969 Shootout

'Son, you've got a good engine, but your hands aren't on the steering wheel.'  -- Bobby Bowden, Florida State

 'My advice to defensive players: Take the shortest route to the ball and arrive in a bad humor.' -- Bowden Wyatt, Tennessee

Because I couldn’t go for three.’  -- Ohio State’s Woody Hayes on why he went for a two-point conversion late in a game against Michigan with the Buckeyes already up by several touchdowns.

 'Gentlemen, it is better for you to have died a small boy
than to fumble this football.' 
-- John Heisman, Rice 

 If these phrases get you thinking about
great football moments you have experienced, then maybe
the Touchdown Club of Houston is for you.

Online website builder